Search OCA:
Get Local!

Find Local News, Events & Green Businesses on OCA's State Pages:

OCA News Sections

Organic Consumers Association

Minnesota GMO Labeling Update

  • MN Bill to Label GMOs
    Organic Consumers Association, April 10, 2012

44 MN Representatives Voted to Study Labeling Genetically Engineered Foods

Minnesota recently joined the list of states with pending legislation to label genetically engineered foods. Rep. Karen Clark (DFL-62A) authored HF 2808, a bill requiring Genetically Engineered Food Labeling in the MN State House of Representatives in early March. It was denied a committee hearing in the House Agriculture Committee.

On March 30 Rep. Clark offered a stripped down amendment to the House Omnibus Agriculture Bill that would have created a study committee of all stakeholders. The genetically engineered food labeling study committee would have reported their recommendations back to the 2014 legislature. The amendment was supported by MN Commissioner of Agriculture, Dave Fredrickson. A Roll Call vote was called on the House floor and the amendment was voted down 81-44. The Senate companion bill, SF 2563 is still active.

Please write and/or call your state representative today: SEE LIST BELOW

If they voted yes, thank them for their support of the opportunity to study genetically engineered food labeling in Minnesota and ask them if they also support HF 2808 as introduced, which would mandate labeling of genetically engineered foods.

If your representative did not support Rep. Clark's amendment, please write and/or call and urge them to support genetically engineered food labeling legislation in the future.

It is critical to let our legislators know that we believe we have a fundamental right to know what's in our food so we can make informed choices about what we feed our families.

For more information about GMO Free MN visit the Millions Against Monsanto Minnesota facebook page or join their yahoo group.

List of MN Reps Who Voted Yes to Study Genetically Engineered Food Labeling

Jim Abeler (R-48B)
Susan Allen (DFL-61B)
Sarah Anderson (R-43A)
Kathy Brynaert (DFL-23B)
Lyndon Carlson (DFL-45B)
Bobby Champion (DFL-58B)
Karen Clark (DFL-61A)
Jim Davnie (DFL-62A)
Deinse Dittrich (DFL-47A)
Mary Franson (R-11B)
Patti Fritz (DFL-26B)
Marion Greene (DFL-60A)
Mindy Greiling (DFL-54A)
Alice Hausman (DFL-66B)
Debra Hilstorm (DFL-46B)
Bill Hilty (DFL-8A)
Frank Hornstein (DFL-60B)
Melissa Hortman (DFL-47B)
Larry Hosch (DFL-14B)
Sheldon Johnson (DFL-67B)
Phyllis Kahn (DFL-59B)
Kate Knuth (DFL-50B)
Carolyn Laine (DFL-50A)
Ernie Leidiger (R-34A)
Ann Lenczewski (DFL-40B)
John Lesch (DFL-66A)
Tina Liebling ((DFL-30A)
Diane Loeffler (DFL-59A)
Jenifer Loon (R-42B)
Carlos Mariani (DFL-65B)
Carly Melin (DFL-5B)
Joe Mullery (DFL-58A)
Erin Murphy (DFL-64A)
Mary Murphy (DFL-6B)
Michael Nelson (DFL-46A)
Kim Norton (DFL-29B)
Michael Paymar (DFL-64B)
Tom Rukavina (DFL-5A)
Bev Scalze (DFL-54B)
Steve Simon (DFL-44A)
Nora Slawik (DFL-55B)
Jean Wagenius (DFL-62B)
John Ward (DFL-12A)
Ryan Winkler (DFL-44B)

Find your MN State Representative Here

For more information on this topic or related issues you can search the thousands of archived articles on the OCA website using keywords: